Kabanko and the History of Randoseru

At the beginning

Originally, the Randoseru was a sturdy backpack with a large storage capacity, fitted to Dutch soldiers, known as Ransel. It was for these qualities that Japanese parents began, in the late 19th century, to give their children similar backpacks to carry textbooks.

The randoseru is a rigid backpack mainly made of leather but it can also be made of synthetic material. The traditional Randoseru is made up of more than 200 components and different parts assembled. Due to its robustness, it weighs relatively heavy (1.4kg). For this reason, the Japanese have developed Clarino, a synthetic material intended to lighten the bag. The most common colors in Japanese schools are red for girls and black for boys, although they are becoming rarer due to the increasing possibilities of customization offered by manufacturers.

The randoseru is one of the most recognizable elements of Japan. A large number of shônen (Manga for teenagers) show schoolchildren wearing their Randoseru. It is a symbol of the Japanese spirit, embodying values of Robustness, hard work and infinite meticulousness. It is traditionally offered by parents and / or grandparents to a schoolchild beginning elementary school, the Randoseru must be able to follow the child throughout its six years of elementary school. Many then children who are now adult keep their Randoseru as a souvenir or to pass it on to their own children.

The attention paid to its finishing and the manufacturers’ efforts to make it more robust (more solid materials, less automated manufacturing techniques) make it an exceptional bag and this is reflected in its price. A new bag can cost between 20,000 yen and 150,000 yen. The price varying according to the material (Leather or Clarino) and the way of producing them (Machines or hand sewn)

Demographic evolution of Japan and future of Randoseru

Randoseru has a market share of almost 90% of Japanese schoolchildren. The market being saturated and the Japanese demography going down, some manufacturers are now targeting international markets. They are still few in number and they seem to have great difficulty in making western parents, who are used to offer their children entry-level bags every year – accordingly with the child’s mood – to purchase such elaborate and expensive bags. This will not happen without a mentality change.

KABANKO and its history

Kabanko was established in 1957 by Tatsuji Murase in Nagoya City with the aim of offering high-end Randoseru school bags for Japanese children.

Innovation in the manufacturing process, in design, and in the use of new materials, has always been at the heart of their concern. Kabanko makers have been repeatedly awarded by various consumer and producer associations in Japan for the quality of their bags and their innovative designs (see “Kabanko history in a few dates” below).

Constrained like others Randoseru manufacturers by Japanese demography, Kabanko has chosen to create an adult range inspired by the Randoseru while adding a western touch and retaining the know-how acquired through many decades manufacturing the classical Randoseru style backpack. Their bags are hand-sewn, it guarantees unparalleled durability and robustness. The attention to every details is also a hallmark of Kabanko’s teams. It shows through, in the finishing on the bottom of the backrest – The leather is meticulously folded and hand-sewn – in the chosen material for the backrest, a memory foam, offering an amazing back comfort and also in the adjustable and padded handles, allowing a pleasant feeling when worn even in case of heavy load.

You can discover the Kabanko backpacks by following this link.

The History of KABANKO in a few dates

1957   Tatsuji Murase a fondé l’entreprise à Makinocho, Nakamura Ward, Nagoya City

1960   Name was changed to Murasekabanko

1987   Winner of the Small and Medium-Sized Enterprises Commissioner Prize for its « Ladies Business case »

1988   Winner of the International Trade and Industry Department Prize, Consumer Goods Industries Bureau for « the Overnight Bag »

1993   Winner of the Japan General Merchandise Promotion Center prize for his « Threeway Bag »

1998   Award of the Department of Japan Association President for his « Night case »

2000   Award of the Tajima District Jiba Industrial for its two-handed « soft attaché case »

2005   For the Satchel « Hana », Minister of Economy, Trade and Industry prize

2005   Randoseru « Hana » wins the Minister of Economy, Trade and Industry Prize

2010   Winner of the 2010 JAPAN LEATHER AWARD Special Prize for his « Arimatsu Shibori Boston bag »

2012   The release of the new brand – from murasekabanko – eddy kids label for children.

2015   Wins the JAPAN LEATHER AWARD household goods category award for its « intrecciato » & the Small and Medium Enterprises Commissioner prize at the 35th Japan Technical and Creative Luggage Competition for the Randoseru « wedding dress ».
Your Cart
You can`t add more product in compare

Kabanko et l’Histoire du Randoseru

Au commencement

À l’origine, le Randoseru était un sac à dos robuste avec une grande capacité de stockage, équipant les soldats Hollandais, connu sous le nom de Ransel. C’est pour ces qualités que les parents Japonais ont commencé, à la fin du 19e siècle, à donner à leurs enfants des sacs à dos similaires pour transporter les manuels scolaires.

Le randoseru est un sac à dos rigide principalement en cuir mais il peut également être en matière synthétique. Le Randoseru traditionnel est composé de plus de 200 composants et parties différentes assemblées. Du fait de sa robustesse, il pèse relativement lourd (1.4kg).  Pour cette raison, les Japonais ont développé le Clarino, une matière synthétique visant à alléger le sac. Les couleurs les plus répandues dans les écoles Japonaises sont le rouge pour les filles et le noir pour les garçons, même s’ils se font plus rares du fait des possibilités de customisation croissantes offertes par les fabricants.

Le randoseru est un des éléments les plus reconnaissables du Japon. Un grand nombre de shônen (Manga pour adolescent) montrent des écoliers portant leurs Randoseru. Il est un symbole de l’esprit Japonais, incarnant des valeurs de Robustesse, de travail et d’infinie méticulosité. Il est traditionnellement offert par les parents et/ou grands-parents à un écolier faisant sa rentrée à l’école élémentaire, le Randoseru doit être capable de suivre l’enfant tout au long de ses six années d’école élémentaire. Nombre d’enfants devenus adultes conservent leur Randoseru comme souvenir ou pour le transmettre à leurs propres enfants.

L’attention portée à sa finition et les efforts des fabricants pour le rendre plus robuste (matériaux plus solides, techniques de fabrication moins automatisées) en font un sac d’exception et cela se ressent dans son prix. Un sac neuf peut coûter entre 20 000 yens et 150 000 yens. Le prix variant en fonction de la matière (Cuir ou Clarino) et de la manière de les produire (Machines ou cousus à la main)

Evolution démographique du Japon et avenir du Randoseru

Le Randoseru à une part de marché de pratiquement 90% des écoliers Japonais. Le marché étant saturé et la démographie Japonaise étant à la baisse, certains fabricants se tournent désormais vers les marchés internationaux. Ils sont encore peu nombreux et ils semblent avoir de grandes difficultés à faire acheter des sacs aussi travaillés et onéreux aux parents occidentaux ayant l’habitude d’offrir à leurs enfants des sacs d’entrée de gamme et d’en changer à chaque rentrée scolaire au gré des humeurs de l’enfant. Cela ne se fera pas sans un changement de mentalité.

KABANKO et son histoire

Kabanko est établie en 1957 par Tatsuji Murase à Nagoya City avec pour ambition de proposer des cartables Randoseru haut de gamme aux enfants Japonais.

L’innovation en matière de processus de fabrication, de design, et de matériaux utilisés, a toujours été au cœur de leur réflexion. Kabanko a maintes fois été récompensée par différentes associations de consommateurs et de producteurs au Japon pour la qualité de ses sacs et ses design innovants (cf « Histoire de Kabanko en quelques dates » ci-dessous).

Contraint comme les autres fabricants de Randoseru par la démographie Japonaise, Kabanko  a fait le choix de créer une gamme adulte inspirée du randoseru tout en y ajoutant une touche occidentale et en conservant le savoir-faire acquis dans la fabrication du Randoseru classique. Leurs sacs sont toujours cousus à la main, cela leur garantit une tenue dans le temps et une robustesse sans équivalent. Le soin apporté aux détails est également un trait caractéristique des équipes de Kabanko. Il transparait notamment, dans les finitions sur le bas du dossier, le cuir y est méticuleusement plié et cousu à la main, dans la matière choisie pour le dossier, une mousse à mémoire de forme, offrant un confort au dos étonnant et aussi dans les anses ajustables et matelassées, permettant une sensation agréable au porté même dans le cas de charge importante.

Vous pouvez découvrir la gamme Kabanko en suivant ce lien.

L’Histoire de KABANKO en quelques dates

1957   Tatsuji Murase a fondé l’entreprise à Makinocho, Nakamura Ward, Nagoya City

1960   Nom changé en Murasekabanko

1987   Lauréat du Prix du commissaire des petites et moyennes entreprises pour son Ladies Business case

1988   Gagnant du prix du ministère du Commerce international et de l’Industrie, Bureau des industries de biens de consommation pour le sac Overnight

1993   Gagnant du prix du Japan General Merchandise Promotion Center pour son Threeway Bag

1998   Prix du président de l’Association du Département du Japon pour son Night case

2000   Prix du Tajima District Jiba Industrial pour son two-handed soft attache case

2005   Pour le Satchel Hana, prix du Ministre de l’Économie, du Commerce et de l’Industrie

2005   Randoseru Hana remporte le Prix du ministre de l’Economie du Commerce et de l’Industrie

2010   Lauréat du Prix spécial du JAPAN LEATHER AWARD 2010 pour son sac Arimatsu Shibori Boston

2012   La sortie de la nouvelle marque – de murasekabanko – eddy kids label pour enfants.

2015   Remporte le prix de la catégorie des biens ménagers au JAPAN LEATHER AWARD pour l’intrecciato & le prix du commissaire des petites et moyennes entreprises au 35e concours technique et créatif de bagages du Japon pour la robe de mariée Randoseru.

Votre Panier
You can`t add more product in compare